The Clerk of the Circuit Court acts as an agent for the State of Florida for issuing licenses per Florida Statute 741. The Marriage License Department is here to answer your questions concerning obtaining a marriage license in Franklin County.
To help you in finding quick answers to your common questions, we have provided the following sections:
Marriage License Fees
Fees related to the Marriage License Department.
Marriage License FAQs
Frequently Asked Questions for the Marriage License Department. Check to see if your question is already answered here.
Marriage License Forms
- Application for Marriage License
- Required Premarital Statement
- Affirmation Of Common Children
- Family Law Handbook
Marital handbook prepared as a public service by The Family Law Section of The Florida Bar. This handbook has been reviewed for accuracy by The Family Court Steering Committee established by The Florida Supreme Court.
Marriage License Contact Information
Need to visit, write, phone, or email the Marriage License Department? You will find that information here.
The charges listed are established by Florida Statutes, Franklin County ordinances, administrative orders, rules of court procedures and special legislative acts.
NOTE: Some charges include additional fees which are authorized by county ordinances; These may vary from county to county.
|Cost, including certified copy of license||$86.00|
|Additional certified copies||$3.00|
The Clerk of the Circuit Court is the Marriage License issuing agent for the state.
The following are the most often asked questions regarding a marriage license or courthouse wedding:
What do I need to do to get a marriage license?
To obtain a marriage license both parties need to come in person to the Clerk’s office, bring their Valid Photo Identification, provide their social security numbers (Or Valid Passport) and pay the marriage license fee. In addition, if either party has previously been married, they must supply the date and reason that marriage ended. Each person applying for a marriage license must also read the “Family Law Handbook”. This is required by law. For additional information on how to bring my fiance'(e) to the United States, click here.
What type of identification is a marriage license applicant required to produce?
Applicants are required to provide one of the following IDs, and that ID must include his/her date of birth:
- A Florida identification card or driver’s license issued by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
- A passport issued by the Department of State of the United States.
- A passport issued by a foreign government if the document is stamped by the United States Immigration and Naturalization Service.
- A driver’s license or an identification card issued by a public agency authorized to issue driver’s licenses in a state other than Florida, a territory of the United States, or Canada or Mexico.
- An identification card issued by any branch of the armed forces of the United States.
- An inmate identification card issued on or after January 1, 1991, by the Florida Department of Corrections for an inmate who is in the custody of the department.
- An inmate identification card issued by the United States Department of Justice, Bureau of Prisons, for an inmate who is in the custody of the department.
- A sworn, written statement from a sworn law enforcement officer as to the date of birth of an applicant and that the identification documents for an inmate in an institution of confinement were confiscated upon confinement and that the person named in the document is the person whose signature is to be notarized.
- An identification card issued by the United States Immigration and Naturalization Service.
How much does it cost to get a license?
The total cost for a license (including county and state fees) is $86.00. However, couples who have attended an approved premarital preparation class pay only $61.00. The provider has to be on a provider list pursuant to Florida Statute 741.0305(5) and the Certificate of Completion for the class must be presented to the Clerk.
Do I have to pay the fee in cash?
Payment in full by cash, cashier’s check or credit card is required.
Do both parties have to be present at the Clerk’s office to apply for a license?
Do we have to have a blood test to apply for a license?
No. Blood tests for marriages in Florida are not required.
How long does it take to get a license?
Licenses are issued immediately. The process normally takes no more than 30 minutes. However, unless the couple has attended an approved premarital preparation class there is a three day waiting period before the license is effective and the marriage can take place. There is no waiting period for out of state residents.
What are the age restrictions for obtaining a marriage license?
Effective July 1, 2018, A license may not be issued to any person younger than 18 years of age, unless (a) the person is at least 17 years of age and provides the written consent of his or her parents or legal guardian, which is acknowledged by an officer authorized by law to take acknowledgments and administer oaths; and (b) the older party to the marriage is not more than 2 years older than the younger party to the marriage.
Is the signature of just one parent sufficient to qualify as parental permission for a minor to marry?
No. The permission of one parent is sufficient ONLY if that parent has sole legal custody of the minor or if the other parent is deceased.
How long is the marriage license valid?
Florida marriage licenses are valid for 60 days from their date of issue. They must be returned to the Clerk’s Office for recording within 10 days after the marriage is performed.
How long does it usually take to get a certified copy of our marriage record?
Certified copies are normally received within 10 days after the completed marriage certificate is returned to the Clerk’s office for recording in the county’s official records.
How much does it cost for a certified copy of a marriage certificate?
One certified copy is provided as part of the marriage license fee. There is no additional cost. Extra certified copies may be obtained for a fee of $3.00 each.
Do one or both of the marriage license applicants have to be American citizens?
No. There is no citizenship requirement.
Do we have to make an advance appointment for a license?
No. Licenses are issued without appointments during normal business hours, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Who may perform the marriage for us?
All regularly ordained ministers of the gospel, or elders in communion with some church, or other ordained clergy, and notaries public of this state may perform marriages under the regulations prescribed by law. Upon request, information will be provided regarding options known to the Clerk’s office that are available for this service.
My husband and I want to renew our vows. Do we need to get a license for this?
How do we go about renewing our marriage vows?
Talk to your clergyman, chaplain, or other religious adviser or personal counselor.
Do I have to have my divorce papers (or spouse’s death certificate) in order to apply for a marriage license?
You must be sure the divorce is final and you will need to know the date the judgement was signed. The application does require you to say when and how your last marriage ended (divorce, annulment, or death).
Do I have to bring a driver’s license or other form of official identification with me to obtain a marriage license?
Yes, proper photo identification such as a driver’s license, Florida I.D. card, or passport is required.
Can a person marry someone to whom they are related?
Florida law prohibits a person marrying anyone to whom they are related by lineal consanguinity. The nearest degree of relationships who may legally marry in the state of Florida is first cousins.
Where is the Clerk’s Office located?
Marriage Licenses are issued at the Clerk’s office located at 33 Market Street, Suite 203, Apalachicola, Florida 32320 AND at the Carrabelle Annex located at 912 N.W. Avenue A, Carrabelle, Florida 32322.
Can I marry outside the State of Florida with a Florida marriage license?
No. You can only use a Florida Marriage License in the State of Florida.